PGA Professional Championship

PGA Championship

Ben Polland Leads Corebridge Financial Team to the 2024 PGA Championship

May 1, 2024



21 PGA of America Golf Professionals will compete May 13-19 at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky

FRISCO, Texas (May 1, 2024) — Ben Polland of Jackson Hole, Wyoming, who won the 2024 PGA Professional Championship on Wednesday, will headline the Corebridge Financial Team at the 2024 PGA Championship, May 13-19, at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Kentucky.

The team comprises the low 20 scorers from the PGA Professional Championship and Michael Block, who earned a berth through his T-15 finish in the 2023 PGA Championship.

The 33-year-old Polland will be appearing in his fourth PGA Championship (2015, 2016, 2021).

The 2024 PGA Championship will feature four additional PGA Professional Champions:  Block (2014), Matt Dobyns (2012, 2015), Jesse Mueller (2022) and Braden Shattuck (2023).

Block (Mission Viejo, Calif.) will appear in his sixth PGA Championship after finishing T-15 and earning Low Club Professional honors in 2023 at Oak Hill Country Club.

Dobyns (Jericho, N.Y.) will return to the PGA Championship field for the first time since 2018 and sixth time in his career.

Six of the PGA of America Golf Professionals will be competing in their first PGA Championship, including Tracy Phillips (Tulsa, Okla.) who will make his Championship debut at age 61. He is also a member of the Corebridge Financial Team headed to the 2024 KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship at Harbor Shores.

Block and the low 20 scorers who have earned exemptions into the 2024 PGA Championship and a position on the 2024 Corebridge Financial Team include:

Ben Polland (Jackson Hole, Wyo.) - Shooting Star of Jackson Hole, Rocky Mountain Section

Andy Svoboda (Oak Brook, Ill.) - Butler National Golf Club, Illinois Section

Jared Jones (Houston, Texas) - River Oaks Country Club, Southern Texas Section

John Somers (Trinity, Fla.) - Southern Hills Plantation Club, North Florida Section

Jesse Mueller (Phoenix, Ariz.) - Grand Canyon University Golf Course, Southwest Section

Tyler Collet (Vero Beach, Fla.) - John’s Island Club, South Florida Section

Brad Marek (Berkeley, Calif.) - Corica Park, Northern California Section

Evan Bowser (Naples, Fla.) - LaPlaya Golf Club, South Florida Section

Jeremy Wells (Estero, Fla.) - Cypress Lake Golf Club, South Florida Section

Jeff Kellen (Glenview, Ill.) - North Shore Country Club, Illinois Section

Josh Speight (Locust Hill, Va.) - The Club at Viniterra, Middle Atlantic Section

Larkin Gross (Fairfax, Va.) - Westwood Country Club, Middle Atlantic Section

Preston Cole (Charlotte, N.C.) - Quail Hollow Club, Carolinas Section

Tracy Phillips (Tulsa, Okla.) - Cedar Ridge Country Club, South Central Section

Josh Bevell (Nashville, Tenn.) - Profectus Golf - Tennessee Section

Matt Dobyns (Jericho, N.Y.) - Meadow Brook Club - Metropolitan Section

Zac Oakley (King of Prussia, Pa.) - Bidermann Golf Club - Philadelphia Section

Kyle Mendoza (Oceanside, Calif.) - Hacienda Golf Club - Southern California Section

Braden Shattuck (Aston, Pa.) - Rolling Green Golf Club - Philadelphia Section

Wyatt Worthington II (Las Vegas, Nev.) - Eastside Golf - Southwest Section

Michael Block (Mission Viejo, Calif.) - Arroyo Trabuco Golf Club - Southern California Section

About the PGA of America

The PGA of America is one of the world’s largest sports organizations, composed of more than 30,000 PGA of America Golf Professionals who love the game, are expert coaches, operators and business leaders, and work daily to drive interest, inclusion and participation in the sport. The PGA of America owns and operates numerous championships and events, including major championships for men, women, seniors and the Ryder Cup, one of the world’s foremost sporting events. For more information, visit and follow us on X, formerly known as Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Media Contacts

Greg Dillard, PGA of America, 561-308-8013,

Alan Cox, PGA of America, 972-214-8274,