PGA Tournament Series Starts Thursday at PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie

November 29, 2023


Craig Dolch

By Craig Dolch

Special to PGA of America

PORT ST. LUCIE, Fla. (Nov. 29, 2023) – The 46th PGA Tournament Series starts Thursday at PGA Golf Club. It will be hard pressed to match the drama of the 45th edition.

Last year, we saw veteran PGA of America Golf Professionals such as Rod Perry of Port Orange, Fla., and Bob Sowards of Dublin, Ohio, add to their trophy collection. We also witnessed a premonition of what was to come when Michael Block won to clinch his first PGA Professional Player of the Year Award. Block this spring became a media darling when at 46 he made a hole-in-one while finishing tied for 15th at the PGA Championship at Oak Hill, a performance that earned him exemptions into several PGA Tour events.

We also saw Vince Drahman of Zionsville, Ind., come close to winning a PGA Tournament Series event last year. Painfully close, as he lost three consecutive playoffs. At least Drahman left the PGA Tournament Series with the most money ($10,712) while finishing runner-up to Block in best scoring average (68.33 to 68.50).

Last year’s other winners were Kyle Szyhowski of St. Charles, Mo., John Somers of Clearwater, Fla., and Steven Delmar of Chevy Chase, Md. Each collected $5,000 and the memory of having beat some of the country's finest PGA of America Golf Professionals. Last year, a total of 36 states and 32 PGA of America Sections were represented in the six-event, 36-hole series.

Event No. 1 of the Series drew a 61-player field and starts Thursday on the Ryder Course. The other PGA Tournament Series events: No. 2 is Dec. 4-5 on the Dye; No. 3 is Dec. 7-8 on the Wanamaker; No. 4 is Dec. 11-12 on the Ryder; No. 5 is Dec. 14-15 on the Dye; and No. 6 is Dec. 18-19 on the Wanamaker.

The PGA Tournament Series debuted during the 1977-78 winter to provide more playing opportunities for PGA of America Professionals. In 1996, the Series became the first PGA of America-sanctioned event to be held at PGA Golf Club. Bruce Zabriski is the all-time leader with 18 wins, followed by Mike San Filippo (16) and Gene Fieger (15).

The PGA Tournament Series is presented by GolfPass.

About the PGA of America

The PGA of America is one of the world’s largest sports organizations, composed of more than 29,000 PGA of America Golf Professionals who love the game, are expert coaches, operators and business leaders, and work daily to drive interest, participation and inclusion in the sport. The PGA of America owns and operates numerous championships and events, including major championships for men, women, seniors and the Ryder Cup, one of the world’s foremost sporting events. For more information, visit and follow us on X, formerly known as Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Media Contacts
Greg Dillard, PGA of America, 561-308-8013,

Alan Cox, PGA of America, 972-214-8274,